RSD Photo's SoCal Life

By rsdphotography

Bed & Breakfast Kitchen Door

While on the road I like to get a bike ride in each morning. After traveling hundreds of miles at 70 miles per hour each day, it is a great feeling to get out on my bike and travel much less distance at closer to 15 miles per hour.

Bend, OR, our home for the evening, was tailor made for bike riding. Not only were there bike lanes everywhere, but just south of the downtown was a wonderful single track along the river. I had managed to ride along the river while in Long Beach, but that was on a paved path in the hot sun. The trail in Bend wound through the trees, on a great dirt path, with fabulous views of the river an the surrounding hills.

It was on the way back from this exhilarating ride that I passed by the Mill Inn Bed & Breakfast and saw this entry to their kitchen. It is certainly not something I would have noticed while traveling by car at any speed, but was easily spotted moving along at 15 MPH on my bike. I'm sure i was not the first to photograph this door - the cook in the kitchen window (unseen on the left) smiled and nodded his head like he had seen it all before. I still think of it as my reward for getting on my bike each day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.