Hop Barn

By hopbarn

Chandelier

This evening I went to a fabulous concert in Cheltenham given by James Rhodes, pianist with an old friend of mine (we have known each other since I was 9 and she was 10!) who lives nearby. The concert was at the Parabola Arts Centre at Cheltenham Ladies' College, a really lovely intimate venue, perfect for this type of event. I met up with a couple of other tweeple too, @violamaths, @agnieszkasshoes, @Orchid99 which was nice - always nice to put faces to names and also to see a few familiar faces in strange places.
There was a very nice exhibition of painted violas there which is being auctioned off during this festival. My friend knows the artist, John Haylock, of this particular viola and he kindly let me take his picture with it.
Then it was off next door the Hotel du Vin where I rather liked the chandelier - what a lovely simple idea! It would have looked more impressive had it not been dusty though!
We finished off the evening eating a thai meal at the Suffolk Arms before visiting my friends house and her daughter was there - so we had a long chat about photos - she is studying photography at Falmouth.
And then the drive home - I found that my tank was nearly empty & I was concerned about getting fuel before hitting the M5. I did find a BP garage which I had to use - & then I listened to my new James Rhodes CD (signed by the man himself) all the way home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.