SOUTH BY MIDWEST

By southbymidwest

Rainy afternoon at The Lake...

It was rainy and overcast this afternoon... but I loved the pop of red on the dock. The red on this shirt is so intense that I've been leaving it in the sun for the last week trying to fade it a bit. It looks like I haven't succeeded yet, but it turned out for the better today. I also like how the lines of the dock are askew in this shot...

By the way, that is a Trombone Shorty t-shirt I got in NO. I saw him and his band live at Tipitina's and it was absolutely incredible... one of the best live shows I've seen in years. That is the only reason I'm going to so much trouble with this t-shirt!

SHOT NOTES: I actually tried several versions of this shot, close/far, non/straight lines, different lenses, etc... In the end I liked this off-angle shot with my Pen 40/1.4 best (taken @f5.6). In post I, believe it or not, desaturated the red by about 15%. The shirt is really that red! I also auto-adjusted contrast and boosted shadows a bit. I'm finding that blowing out the dark portions of the photos just a bit gives them a vintage look...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.