Lost in Time...

By linkbekka

Going to see my auntie...

Margaret is my mum`s brother`s wife. A month before Uncle John retired in 1990 they went on holiday to Spain. Uncle John dropped dead at the airport.

Margaret spent many years alone, but eventually met and married old Frank. But he soon died.

We rarely see her, but today we drove to Kingston Seymour just outside Bristol for a salad lunch. She had a hip replacement a couple of years ago and now walks with an awful limp. Other than that she seems in good health. She has a Downs Syndrome daughter who lives in a home. She has two sons who live some distance away so doesn`t see them or her grandchildren as much as she`d like.

She seemed quite lonely -- but put on a brave face, and a good lunch.

I kept wondering if Uncle John and my mum and dad were looking down from Hotel Heaven and sort of thanking me for going to see Auntie Margaret...

.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.