Life in Fife ©

By LifeInFife

A Classroom Setting

Try as I can I just never seem to get away from it :-) I never wanted to be a teacher but it seems that pretty much every job i have ever had has had an element of learning attached to it. This goes way back to the late eighties when my job encompassed all sorts of IT - hardware, software, network admin AND teaching middle aged company PAs who had only ever used typewriters to use a word processor on their first PCs! That was challenging :-)

In my time I run sessions on all sorts, mainly in the IT, Interweb field. I have just finished preparing a workshop for my current employers on Social Networking which will be on the timetable for the autumn!! My job? I am a business adviser. So while we do a lot of one to one support and development we also run some one to many workshops to increase the footfall and improve the use of our limited resources!

Today's session was an intoductory session for people who are looking to set up their own businesses. I quite enjoy these ones as you get to meet a wide range of people, from different backgrounds with many and varied business ideas. In today's batch I had a potential real ale tour operator, an online wicca shop, a handyman, a gardener, a games developer and and central heating installer! Pretty much par for the course.

I hope by the end of the session they had learnt a little bit more about the ins and outs of being self employed and that I had helped to motivate them along the right path :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.