Another Waxeye

Zosterops lateralis

The big group of waxeyes seems to have moved on, including the lovebirds. Perhaps it has found a more comfortable home or a better stocked bird table. The few that are left arrive when the sparrows have nearly finished my morning offering of bread. They stay until dusk, mostly feeding on apple and fat.

Unlike the other birds in the garden the waxeyes largely ignore me, so long as I don't have my camera. I suspect the lens appears threatening to them. Otherwise I can approach to within a metre of them, or they will settle on a branch close by me.

Today has been miserably cold. The temperature is higher than when it is fine and frosty, but it feels cooler. I miss the mountains already. Still, I was able to take photos of them on 14 of the last 16 days, so that was a good run.


Quite good in large.

One year ago: My first water drop blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.