Dog Days of Summer

One of my projects this summer has been figuring out what to do with my dogs during our upcoming vacation. The woman who usually takes them is also going to be on vacation while we are, so I've been looking into alternative arrangements. Seems simple enough, but this little project has turned into quite a headache.

Over the past two days, I've had to take my dogs on dog-care interviews. (Seriously, that's what these dog boarding people call it.) Yesterday we went to see an acquaintance who takes dogs into her home. Our interview was to see whether my dogs and her dog got along. They got along just fine, but the "interview" came to an abrupt end when one of my dogs mistook her cat for a squirrel and went completely berserk. The other dog joined in the fracas and went after the cat, who was so bewildered, she didn't know what to do. Needless to say, that interview was a colossal fail. The cat is no doubt still in hiding.

Today we had an interview with a boarding facility. I already had to fill out a two-page application for each dog and have their poop screened before even being granted the interview. And after yesterday's experience, it was with some anxiety that we arrived at our interview at the appointed time.

Fortunately, there were no cats, and my dogs were mostly on their best behavior (until Cooper lifted his leg and peed on a door right as we were leaving). My final alternative is a kennel that I really don't like and would rather not put my dogs in. Keeping my fingers crossed.

_____________________


Picture has nothing to do with anything, really. The dragonfly was the only creature that remained still long enough to photograph.


(backblip)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.