roots and wings

By rootsandwings

milk day.

as i drive up to the farm where i get my milk (i own part of a cow, squirt is her name, as a raw milk share), the hay had just been baled and the two brothers who own the farm are bustling about, finishing the days work. i love going to this farm to collect my milk. talking to them about how life is progressing. about calves being born, chickens getting trampled by the cows, the tractor running out of gas. there is always a story to share.

Cordesview Dairy is the name, and five generations of Cordes have operated this wonderful little place. Adam, one of the brothers, tells me of the first time he helped birth a calf, when he was 12 years old. then boasts that he has helped deliver every calf that has been born since. he can't stop smiling, and a twinkle even seems to be appearing in his eyes. pure joy in his job. the perfect little reminder of how happy knowing my farmers makes me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.