Cottonopolis

By milltownlass

A View From the Bridge

This is Park Bridge, a former iron foundry site, that is now a country park.

I found myself at a loose end for half an hour, after dropping my daughter off at her gym class. It was raining (of course) and I had the outside area to myself. There were a few people keeping dry inside the visitors centre, but I enjoyed the peace and quiet outside.

I managed to take a few shots without dropping my camera. Unfortunately, the hard case is now cracked, so I don't know how much longer it will last. I wonder do they make silicone cases, and straps you can tighten like you can get for a Wii remote? That would be pretty useful for a clumsy oaf like me!

Fact: Rivets used to construct the Eiffel Tower were made at Park Bridge Ironworks! My son also informed me that rivets for the Sydney Opera House were also made here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.