Neidpath Castle

I passed this yesterday on my way home from Peebles but there was torrential rain so I didn't stop.

Today it was a bit better but very changeable conditions. I didn't have time to wait until the weather/light improved but I did at least get this picture and a little bit of HDR has rescued it.

Neidpath is a 14th Century Castle. It has a long history and was the scene of many battles and sieges. Mary Queen of Scots visited it. It contains a pit dungeon and a Well. In the 17th century it was converted to L-plan Tower House.

The castle is said to be haunted by the ghost of Jean Douglas, referred to by Sir Walter Scott as 'the Maid of Neidpath', the youngest daughter of William Douglas, Earl of March.

There was sign of life there today but I don't think it is open to the public these days.

It has been used as a location for many films and television series, including 'Merlin: The Quest Begins'.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.