jeni and the beans

By themessymama

Animals

Emergency blip alert.

I had taken, until just now, a grand total of three photographs today, all of objects in a second hand shop, so I could beg Steve for them. He's quite taken with one of them, maybe if we get it I will blip Ben in it :)

So. We get to 11.30pm. I've not blipped! What have we done today - well I could have taken photos of Ben and Ede, Ede came to play with his mummy while his daddy helped Ben's daddy rebuild the garden fence which blew down in the high winds last week. I could have taken photos of the fence re-build. I could have taken a picture of the completed fence. But I didn't - and I didn't even have my phone with me to take snaps. I am ashamed!

I feel a bit stuck actually. I feel like I take the same pictures over and over again of Ben, I guess in a way that's a good thing for me and him because I will be able to look back through millions of similar pictures and see how he's grown and changed and developed. But, as a blipper, I don't really want to blip the same thing over and over... and as much as I am always fascinated by Ben, I'm not sure the world shares my fascination! I need to get more familiar with my proper camera, I feel like I think more carefully about photographs with a proper camera, rather than the snaps I take (or used to take) all the time on my phone.

So, here you have a photograph, carefully arranged, carefully taken, only post-processed a tiny bit for a little bit extra contrast (which I could have negated the need for if I'd had a few minutes more, and thought about it), of Ben's wooden animals. I took five photographs before I was happy. Only five! I love these animals, I love their simplicity. I love how they feel. I love how Ben will turn the cow's head upside down and kiss it, how he takes the wool "coat" off the sheep, how he has just learnt how to sign "horse", how he calls both pigs and elephants "elephants". They both have long noses, apparently.

I'm going to bed now. Managed to take photo and blip in the space of 20 minutes, and all after I'd said I was going to bed!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.