Adda

By Adda

ride on...

the first century ride (100 km) of the season. And as expected, there were not many takers. Just the three of regular riders from work. It was about 84km for me but I am not complaining about not hitting a century. I have been there earlier, with a different set of riders though. This time we were much faster than the last time. Riders were more regular and determined. The weather was also very favourable - overcast skies and breezy morning - the best that one can ask for riding in the morning. As usual, I didn't carry my dSLR for the ride. I wanted to carry Mrs Adda's little point and shoot but forgot to pocket it before leaving home and hence had to content myself with my cellphone itself. Dont think it performed too bad. I also forgot to carry cash today. I wasn't too worried as I was not riding alone. On the way back, I was lagging behind the other two riders. I decided to stop by a snack shop and help myself with a shot of soft drink. The moment I took the first sip, I was like - "Shit! I have no money". I tried calling my other two partners multiple times but there was no response. I gave up and turned towards the guy at the counter. "Buddy, there's a problem. I dont have money." I saw the expression on his face changing. The smile had disappeared. "The money is with my buddies who rode past a few minutes ago and I am just not able to reach them on their cellphone". "hmmm...". "You mind if I pay you later? I will definitely pay you when I ride this way the next time". "okay...fine". "Thank you so much!!!" I was almost ready to trade my cheap gloves in case matters got out of control. Thankfully, didn't have to do that. Riding was great and I was spent by the time I reached home. Long ride after a long time.

In the evening, went for a quick game of tennis. I was playing after a long time and as expected, I sucked at the game. But the feeling of sweating it out in the evening was great. Hope I will be able to continue it - at least over the weekends.

Farside would probably remember the stone in the top right photo :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.