nina54

By nina

Saying goodbye - an epic surprise

A citation from my diary:

"Tortensholmen the 29th of August 1998

Last night we came to Torstensholmen with Timo, just the two of us. We took a taxi to Gumbostrand and we fetched a gas canister from Joni on our way.

Before we arrived to Gumbostrand it started to rain. When we finally got to the harbor we saw that the boat was full of water and the accumulator was ruined. It was obvious that we could not start the motor. I didn't have a mobile phone because I was supposed to start next week a my new job and get it by then.

Then I walked in the rain to the phone booth to call Ole Granqvist, if he could come and help us out. Ole was sick but called his son-in-law, Arne Wallen, who luckily was able to come. Arne tow us in Joni's boat to Torstenholmen. He promised to come on saturday to see if he could fix the motor.

We had a lovely evening with Timo despite everything what had happen. We sat and talked quite late, how proud we were about our new jobs and about reaching that point. We also talked about love and about the security that gave to us and to my boys.

Right now I'm sitting on the terrace, and the wind is humming in the trees. There is smoke coming from the chimney which sinks down because of the low pressure in the air. I can smell while sitting here. The sky is completely grey but it's not raining. The weather has been so bad that we are going to put everything here in order for the winter already.

In the evening of the dame day at 21.40: about an hour ago Timo asked me to marry him! On his knees in front of the fireplace! I so happy!"


On the left side of the book is a shot taken when I was sitting on the terrace of Torstensholmen cottage. On the right side of the book is a shot taken of our wedding at the 21st of October 1998.

There are lots of emotions and turmoil inside of me blipping this. I'm not a masochist. I just need to go through these significant memories. I need to process them to be able to finally leave them behind me.

It has been a heavy day of packing and organizing things. Both physically and mentally.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.