Day by day

By LizzieBeattie

Albert Dock, Liverpool

There is an exhibition on at the Liverpool Tate of Picasso, Peace and Freedom to which I had wanted to go. Then I got wind of the fact that there was to be an exhibition of Frank Hurley's photographs taken on Shackleton's expedition on the Endeavour to try to cross the Antarctic Ice Cap. I had been to the Antarctic in December 2008 and was keen to see these iconic pictures, having been to some of the same places as the expedition - though possibly a touch more cautiously.

The Picasso was a very informative exhibition and I learnt lots and appreciated what I was seeing. The pictures of the Antarctic were excellent and they left me very moved.

I finished the afternoon by going to the exhibition by Spencer Trickett in The Lowry on Salford Quays. Photographs of hundreds of nude people stood in patterns in Salford's open spaces with references to Lowry himself. Sorry - no comparison with either of the other two!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.