Swim, Bike, Run, Finish!

Well, despite not really "feeling it" this week and definitely not wanting to race yesterday, I still got up at 5 AM to head out to try my luck again at the Seafair triathlon. Last year was my first year doing triathlon, since I just learned how to swim at age 31 and I didn't even own a bike. This year, I was coming in with the goal of beating all of my last year's times, which makes things a bit more pressurized. My training focused mainly on more lake swimming (trying to get over my fear of the open water and the seaweed) and much longer bike rides. But I never have any idea how I'll do until I do the race and...that's why I do the race I suppose. It worked out great! I killed last years times in all the areas. I have a slight wish to have done faster on the bike but I can't really complain since I had my first truly AMAZING lake swim and nearly beat my standalone 5k PR from 2004.

Swim: 21:19 (4 minutes, 57 seconds faster than last year)
T1: 2:34 (31 seconds faster than last year)
Bike: 45:12 (2 minutes, 25 seconds faster than last year)
T2: 1:30 (19 seconds faster than last year)
Run: 28:59 (1 minute, 33 seconds faster than last year)
Overall: 1:39:34 (9 minutes, 42 seconds faster than last year)

Once again, thanks to Mr. Apple for being on photo duty but BOO! to my D300 which made some terrible choices while set on P for Mr. Apple.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.