FortyTwo

By 42

A rose by any other name

'Tis but thy name that is my enemy;
Thou art thyself, though not a Montague.
What's Montague? it is nor hand, nor foot,
Nor arm, nor face, nor any other part
Belonging to a man. O, be some other name!
What's in a name? that which we call a rose
By any other name would smell as sweet;
So Romeo would, were he not Romeo call'd,
Retain that dear perfection which he owes
Without that title. Romeo, doff thy name,
And for that name which is no part of thee
Take all myself.


Juliet in Shakespeare's Romeo & Juliet

I think the point is that really that it takes all sorts and we shouldn't judge people based on their name, which school they went to, their colour religion or creed. That's sometimes more difficult than I might like, probably because I was not brought up in a vacuum, but I do try.

At work today I had a very difficult hour and a half long meeting about an employee who has clearly rubbed some people up the wrong way, but its simply down to the way they are. They are not a bad person, but work politics and being different is steadily forcing them towards the exit...

- - - - -

LOTD: On the subject of blip today, Mrs 42 got these (not very manly) fair trade roses and I thought I would try and do my own poor imitation of what waterliefje does so well day after day.

Mrs 42 - this one's for you :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.