nogbad's blips

By nogbad

Aja

So today I thought I'd go for an easy blip. I've got a load of work to do and the weather is overcast so the light is poor and I've just dug out the lightweight tripod so I thought I'd do a house-based photo and bish, bash, bosh; it'd be sorted.

I live alone so my house is "lived in" rather than spruce and across from the TV there are a few CDs in piles. "Ah!", I thought - that'll be a handy and colourful shot and so I set up and took a few and looked at them in Elements and was then struck with a sudden concern. Do I really want my new-found blip friends to see my musical taste? Should I rearrange the stacks to hide the compilations and foreground the classics? I've been gripped by paroxysms of anxiety, it's almost a "Nick Hornby" moment. In the end I've decided to be brave - no rearranging, no straightening and no trying to hide the evidence of a misspent childhood wearing long hair and listening to loud music. There are three piles in this shot and eight piles in total. My vinyl collection is in a cupboard to keep it away from bright sunlight and less bright visitors. So here it is - a small sample with no apologies whatsoever. Try the large view if you need to read the labels.

And if anyone hasn't heard Aja give your ears a treat - it's stunning from start to end.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.