Things to smile about

By Maya

Learning all the time

Since it rained most of today, Pixie and I decided to use the in-day to catch up on her project work. This is Pixie, lying on our big, bouncy (shared) bed, writing about our holiday to stick in her project book.

The beauty of home-education (I've been doing it now a little over 19yrs) is that early on you realise learning takes place all the time, not just between the hours of 9am and 3:15pm, not just between the four walls of a classroom, nor even confined to a table! It can happen anywhere, at any time ~ first thing in the morning, last thing at night, indoors or outdoors. And best of all, home-education is very much a two way thing, I learn just as much from my children.

Today, for instance, Pixie said to me that she knew something I'd just said "was only a rhetorical question". I looked at her stunned.... she's only just turned 7! I asked if she understood what the word meant and she explained it was a question that didn't really need an answer. I was astonished! I asked where she'd learned that, since I didn't know she even knew the word, never mind the meaning of it. She grinned at me, knowingly - replied "I learned it from a TV programme!".

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.