Katie's photos

By bogbumper

Jewel in the garden

I've had a funny day. It started with my alarm going off at 4.45 am so I could go through all the moths caught overnight. What turned out to be 540+ moths of 60 species greeted me! I didn't finish until 7.30 and had to save some (in the fridge) for later inspection.

Then, this evening I wandered over to the pond for a quick look and spotted a damselfly fluttering among the water mint. To my surprise it was a female Emerald Damselfly - a lovely greenish-bronze insect. I've never seen one in the garden before. She was perching on the mint and making quick dashes to grab tiny insects from the plants.

I like the reddish leaves of the mint (and their smell, unfortunately not available on t'interweb) and the subtle shades of the damsel. Hope she stays around.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.