Still Alive

By rinkkasatiainen

The hikers' meeting

Yesterday we went to the doctor with the little princess. Today it was her parents' turn. So we went, my dear wife and me, to see the doctor. Just to be sure that there's nothing that would infect her again.

Fortunately there is no. There's only the summer virus that's playing within us. Happy to hear. And I even got 3 days sick leave for this. Probably I have to then rest, rest and rest. And take care of the little princess while her mother is feeling ill.

After the 3 days, my summer holiday begins. That means, more or less, that I'm off work for the next 5,5 weeks! Hooray!

Had today a meeting with the hiking group. So I met first time my first-ever-hiking-group which I should be guiding. Exciting isn't it?

I'm not sure whether I should be making very strict day-to-day plans on what to do and where to go. But I'm not like that when hiking. For example, the route from the start to the end can be travelled easily within 3 days. We have 6 to use.
So, instead of strict day-to-day plans and ever-increasing stress, I'll enjoy more on having many doors open for opportunities.

What if we stayed two nights at one particular camping area? Then we could reach the summit of the highest mountain in Norway, Galdhøpiggen.
What if we all are in a very good fit? Then we could walk longer days to be able to walk the Besseggen, which is outstanding.

I don't know the people I'm being a guide. I don't know how fit they are.

What I do know, is that I'm good in making decisions on the fly.

Should I do, as a guide, very strict day-to-day plans? Would it make the groups journey safer? Would it make their journey more enjoyable?


Maybe.

Maybe I'm wrong.

I often am.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.