to infinity and beyond

By whizkids

she's my cup of coffee

i actually don't drink coffee, but the vast majority of people i interact with on a daily basis do. what i'm really trying to relay is an old adage of my father's about children and waking up -- "if they don't get you out of bed and on your feet in the morning, there probably isn't much that will." or something to that effect.

along those lines... have you ever had one of those moments - you know, when you realize that you are not the person that you thought you were to someone else. i did. this morning. it occurred to me that i'm not my daughter's father -- at least not in the morning. no, that honor belongs to Captain "Harm" Rabb of the TV show JAG. our little one spends her morning without me as i'm racing off to, or already at school. my wife enjoys JAG during breakfast, so everyday she asks our daughter, "are you ready to go watch captain rabb?"

no, i'm the nighttime daddy. i'm there when it comes time for bed; the one that puts her down. mommy is the nice one that is there when she wakes up. Rabb may be her morning daddy, but she is still my 'cup of coffee.'

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.