blip art :: xb

By xb

#2: Reading

I know, I've taken a macro close-up of a book before. It's very lazy, and it goes against what I said on the Y-day. But tonight is more blog than blip. I settled down to read a new book, got my number 2 out of the way (ahem!), and that got me thinking...

Is it weird to imagine the people in your book with different accents, and I mean to actually hear them talking? The book I'm reading tonight was sounding Geordie in my head. On this occasion it was Ant & Dec's book - because I know what they sound like, I thought that was fair enough. But I do it with fictional books too. I imagine what the characters might sound like. I'd love to know if others do the same - you might be imagining my Connery-esque Scottish tones at this very moment!

The second of my musings, is more of a moan actually. The iPhone might be a pretty impressive gadget, but the predictive text is quite poor. It insists on capitalising Reading when I don't mean the place. It will make its, it's, when I don't mean "it is". And it can't understand that I might be talking about hell, when it thinks I mean he'll. One of these days I'm going to text work and tell them I'm not coming in because I'm I'll, not ill!

And finally, the number two is relevant today because it won't be long before the new Noah is gathering together all of the species two by two, and loading them off on an ark. It hasn't stopped raining the whole day. If this continues, the 1 to 10 series is going to be made up of microwave dials, TV channels and clocks. Now that wouldn't do, would it?

:)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.