Qu'est-ce que je fais ?

By waitingforgodot

Draught

I went to a gathering of my fellow census workers for a couple of beers... I hadn't noticed (and hadn't asked, actually) that Guinness was on tap until I went up for my second glass.

I don't have a long history with what a friend has called the "chewy" brew. I began drinking it (albeit not regularly these days) only about fifteen years ago, when I first developed an interest in my familial origins. I'd grown up not really knowing much about my families' (mother's or father's) histories and, in fact, wasn't really all that aware that my name was a very Irish name ~ amongst the top fifty or so in the country. (I would have suspected that my name would be well down the list, after all those names beginning with O'!)

I have never had much of an urge to travel the world, as so many people do. I did expect, however, that if I were to travel, it would be to Ireland, where ancestors from both sides of my family (though mostly my father's) come from. As it happens, I've been to France five times, Spain, Norway, Germany and the Netherlands (airports only for the last two).

But I've yet to make it to Ireland.






Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.