a town called E.

By Eej

Raining Pleasure ...


Last night every town in south west Michigan was hit with rain, thunderstorms and tornado warnings. Every town except us.
I'm not sure if this qualifies as the hottest/driest summer in the history of recorded summers, but it's the hottest that I can remember. When I came home the temperature in the shade was 100F/38C. Ridiculous. The air outside was SO hot and humid it made my asthma flare up. Our AC can't keep up, the cats are lethargic and quite frankly I can't be bothered doing much either.

The veggies have been getting water every night but I am not in the habit of watering grass, until this afternoon when I couldn't bear looking at the poor brown dried straws anymore. I doused 'm. And there was much rejoicing.

The weather forecast for this evening moved from 85% chance of rain at 6, to 60 at 8, to 40 at 9 ... but the clouds still looked like they were building up something so the Beloved suggested taking me to the lake. Just so I wouldn't have to repeat last night's hysterical performance ;)
I took some old bread and as I stepped out the door I felt a drop. And another! Could it be? Maybe?

By the time we got to the lake most of what fell had already evaporated, and it felt sticky again. I steered clear of the grazing geese and walked up to the ducks. Threw some bread, yelled at some gulls ... and then it started to rain again. It felt lovely. Just lovely. I threw some more bread, took photos of the drops hitting the water and smiled.

All of a sudden, the rain turned into BUCKETS of water being thrown about. Within seconds I was soaked to the skin, which was slightly less lovely. I turned around to run back to the car but found my route up blocked by hungry geese. Hissing! I tried to divert them by throwing the rest of the bread but that just excited them more, so I started running to my other escape route. One particularly brave one (I recognised him from earlier visits) came running after me. Aaaaaaaaah!

And then the silliness of it all hit me and I just started laughing. Laughing SO hard. Then I wrung out my hair, flapped my shirt so it wouldn't stick to me inappropriately and got in the car.

80% chance of rain at 10. We'll see.

I stole the title for today's entry from a Triffids song from the 80s. Couldn't find a good youtube link though :/

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.