Pixel Art

By pixelart

Brahadeshwara Temple

Today I headed south to the Chola's capital city 'Tanjore'. Tanjore aka Thanjavur (in the local language) is one of the oldest cities in India and has a long and varied history. It has been ruled by some of the greatest kings of South India like Cholas, Pandyas, Vijayanagar Empire, the Madurai Nayaks, the Thanjavur Nayaks, the Thanjavur Marathas and also by the British. It is an important center of South Indian art and architecture.

The plan to visit Brahadeshwara Temple was made on the fly. I did not carry my regular camera for certain reasons and my mobile phone with a powerful 8mp camera conked off earlier in the day. So when I reached the temple, I realized, I did not have any good camera to take decent pictures. This is when my dad gave his 2mp mobile phone camera to take some photographs. I wasn't quite sure about the resolution and clarity of the photographs taken with it. I clicked few photographs and surprisingly the clarity turned out to be good. This particular photograph of the temple is a panoramic stitch of 2 images and I am really really happy about the result - the color, details, clarity and sharpness (all for a mere 2mp mobile phone camera)!

This temple is part of the UNESCO World Heritage Site "Great Living Chola Temples" and the temple tower is among the tallest of its kind in the world!

So how is your weekend coming along?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.