coals to Newcastle

When sitting reading in the evening I'll always wait as long as possible before admitting that I need to turn a light on, changing position and keeping my back to the window as required to use up all the lovely natural light available. When I get up in the morning I'll sit in the dark and let the light from the outside gradually wind up and filter in. When I have to drive I especially dislike doing so in the early evening when everyone switches their full-beams on far too early when it's still perfectly safe to see just using sidelights or nothing artificial at all. Streetlights coming on before they're really needed have much the same effect, especially when it's the ultrabright nasty orange abomination directly opposite the window. There is no way these relatively weak things around Holyrood Park's roads were making any difference to the visibility of anything before half-past seven this evening but there they were, glowing slightly and wasting energy. If they didn't have that faint greenishy tinge I prefer in artificial municipal lighting it would be quite annoying.

Maybe they're just there to drag your attention back to the road if you drift off into a sunsetty reverie.

I've been sort of avoiding sunsets recently, partly because I feel I can never quite get them right but end up wasting loads of precious shutterclicks on them anyway, partly because other people do them much better and partly because I'm worried that I'll burn a big hole in my sensor or even my retina despite making damn sure that I don't put my eye to the viewfinder when framing-up. I'll give this one a chance as it's for the assignment and the other contender is a bit similar to Tuesday's oafish dribble-bin.

A busy and mostly very happy day. A weekend then a four-day week to follow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.