RW's Daily Exposures

By rwsphotography

Common Weed

Today's question: Is there beauty in a common weed? A plant, when researched falls into a category of "common weed" of which there are 10s of thousands of types.

Yesterday I shot with a long zoom lens and got the dragonfly as if I shot with a macro lens (one of the things I really like about that lens - you can keep your distance from subjects and still get a reasonable closeup). Today, I decided to dig out my macro and play around with it. I had plenty of blip possibilities, but the more I looked at this, the more it intrigued me. It ended up being shot with my 70-300mm lens - the same one I used yesterday. By the way, both photos were produced "as shot." This lens does magic stuff with Bokeh that I've not seen with other telephoto zooms. You be the judge.

If left unabated, this plant would fill my yard with 5 foot tall plants in a matter of a couple of weeks. Weeds must have some purpose. Maybe it's just to find their beauty in the common places...

Enjoy Large!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.