vonengel

By vonengel

Stranded

Backblipping this, since I had no internet connection in the last days.
Today I am on a trip to LA for SIGGRAPH. The trip was scheduled to take approx. 20h. However, as always some problems occurred.
The flight from Düsseldorf (Germany) to Philli (USA) was overbooked, and it took quite some (1h) time to unload the baggage of the passengers, who took the 600? offer for taking a flight at the next day.
As we finally made it to the runway, and the plane stopped during take-off. One of the breaks didn't work. Strange feeling. We taxied back to the terminal, and technicians got on board to fix the problem. It took 2h. Fortunately, everything worked, but the flight had a 3h delay at that time.
This meant that I didn't caught my connection flight from Philli to Los Angeles, and no other flight was going to LA or San Francisco this day. This really was a pain in the ass. Lufthansa gave me a voucher for a hotel, dinner and breakfast.
However, the dinner voucher was only for 15$, and you merely got anything for this. At the time I had to get up (4:40am) to go the the airport, no breakfast was served. So this voucher was completely worthless. Bummer.
I stayed in the last room on the left side of this corridor. Weird, that hotel floors in the states always look like this. I think they love their carpets.
I will try to keep up with the blips while I am staying/traveling to LA. So stay tuned.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.