Golant to Exeter

Halfway across Dartmoor this afternoon.

Second day and it was pretty tough getting out of bed this morning I have to admit. The idea of a second day of heavy hills didn't exactly fill me with enthusiasm, especially since today's run was significantly longer than yesterday's.

The day got worse when I went down to make breakfast early, only to find the kitchen locked. Bang went my early start. I went back to bed and snoozed for a while. Apparently the kitchens don't open until 7.30 am but I didn't know that - still learning the YHA ropes!

In the end I got off by about 8 after struggling to eat much breakfast. A quick run down to the Bodinnick Ferry across the Fowey (my second ferry crossing of the trip) followed by a climb up away from the Fowey and over the tops towards Looe. I think I got a bit lost to be honest but got to Looe easily enough... then another climb out of Looe and a long run down to the Torpoint Ferry across to Plymouth (my third, and final crossing).

Then a rather nasty A road treck up to Yelverton, where I bought a pasty for lunch, followed by a bit of a slog up onto Dartmoor. Although it had been a very damp start, the weather cleared and the run across Dartmoor was beautiful. Probably one of my best rides ever with wonderful views - the view here doesn't really capture it (stupid iPhone camera). Hard work but well worth it.

Then a lovely run down from the moor into Moretenhampstead where I bought a cup of tea and some apple cake with cream - lots of cream. A nice break but I could have done without all the cream to be honest - what I didn't know was that the biggest hills were still to come - on the Exeter side of Dartmoor.

On the plus side, I met a couple of guys on the top of the moor who were doing the run the other way (JOG to LE) and they said that today was their hilliest day - so I think things should get easier from now on. That's what I'm telling myself anyway.

Arrived safely at the YHA after stopping at the pub with a couple of other guys who are doing the same trip as me.

All in all, a great day.

Anyway, better go... think my Internet time is about to run out.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.