Trying to Be Human

By heathergallay

Take A Deep Breath. Hold It. Breathe.

I had my CT scan yesterday morning. They handed me two berry-flavored barium sulfate smoothies and actually expected me to drink them. Ha! Do they know with whom they're dealing? Only the pickiest person alive. The taste and texture made me so nauseated that they gave up and did the scan after I'd managed to swallow only one (and just barely).

If you've never had to drink a barium smoothie, you're amongst the world's luckiest inhabitants; it tastes like fruit-flavored chalk (think Mylanta or Milk of Megnesia) and it?s just about the most heinous drink in existence. And they wanted me to drink two! Oh, the humanity! But it could've been worse. The woman next to me in the waiting room had two banana-flavored smoothies to choke down. Bananas and I have a mutual hatred thing happening. It ain't pretty.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.