Colin Parte

By ColinParte

The Things They Carried

It's been a long, hectic, sticky, tedious day at work and now I need to Blip. Well, you almost had a picture of my sweaty socks still on my feet, then I though of my dusty shoes to emphasise how hard I'd been working, but then, after trekking all the way to my room (a three-day camel ride!) at the very back of my hotel, carrying my camera bag, my laptop bag, and my five extra stone, I thought of something when throwing the contents of my pockets onto my bed.

Years ago I read a great book of short stories written about the Vietnam War called "The Things They Carried" by Tim O'Brien, so here I display the contents of my pockets and belt. Nothing nearly as exciting as carried by the characters of O'Brien's stories, but they felt almost as heavy ;) Tales from the Retail frontline!

No, not really; I'm just feeling sorry for myself - I'll be fine tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.