Was It Really So Long Ago

By LincolnGreen

It Pea'd it Down

I'm a bit concerned at myself for using this pun but time is as ever short, so it'll have to do. By the way pea'd is an official word, in the NE Essex dialect - trust me!

I was enjoying the daily delights of Basildon, as I have for the last couple of years since my employer chose the town to relocate to. Meanwhile at home, we were being subjected to a deluge of biblical proportions. Thankfully, it was more like 40 mins than 40 days and nights, everything is looking either damp or downtrodden or both.

The sweet pea pictured is growing with the runner beans in our vegetable garden and was an easy target. I'd better dash back indoors as the rain is falling again.

'Girls! Get the boats at the ready!'

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.