John R Smith

By chamberlainjohn

reduce, reuse, recyle, compost

So it is brown for compostable garden waste every second Wednesday; blue for glass and cans on the opposite Wednesday; red for cardboard on the same Wednesday as the brown; green for pretty well everything else on Fridays. My poor head.

#1 daughter (civil service) is PS to the Minister for the Environment and hounds me mercilessly - and every other single person around me follows the same pattern of "recycle or be damned and fry!" My admin co-worker supervises me carefully as I take away office stuff in the back of the car to the recycle centre. I know that she believes that I will dump it in the landfill as soon as I am out of sight - she almost admitted as much last week. I call that downright cynical!

Of course I don't dump it in the landfill. I believe passionately in the environment and the need to defend it. I just don't like showing my enthusiasms too readily! It encourages the recycle police to get above themselves. :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.