Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

Sand Between Our Toes

After yesterday's sad news . . .

We had early morning coffee in our motel room, then headed to the Beachcomber Café in Crystal Cove for breakfast (yes, we had eaten there Monday, but when we find a good place, we go there frequently). We had a delicious breakfast--he splurged and ordered the frittata. I ordered the usual: 2 organic eggs steamed (not poached), whole grain toast, and fresh fruit. Then I splurged when I asked the waitress if I could possibly order 1 slice of their cinnamon/custard French toast. She brought me a half order. It was so sweet, even without the syrup, that I only ate one slice.

Once we had devoured breakfast, we walked to the shore. I clicked lots of photos and then we started walking south -- past a group of plein air painters and their instructor (pictured here). Mr. Fun found a natural see-saw and balanced there for a while. Then we walked a couple miles more till we rounded the point and could see the highway leading toward Laguna Beach. We turned around to walk back toward Crystal Cove and back to our car. As we neared the place where we had eaten breakfast, we heard,

"Hey, Mr. Fun, what you up to?"

and realized that we had walked right past Mallary and her husband had recognized us. They were with a gathering of family. So we paused for a short few minutes to meet Mal's daddy and a few of her family . . . absolutely the nicest people! I asked Mal if she'd like me to blip her in her 2-piece swimsuit. I didn't have my swimsuit on, so she couldn't make the same offer. We both laughed and hugged and kept our cameras put away. (She's adorable in a swimsuit, as you can imagine!)

After a few minutes, Mr. Fun and I excused ourselves and walked to the car. Then drove a little further north to the Newport Beach Public Library where we found the Friends of the Library Store. I spent $7 and he spent $9. I bought books. He bought CDs. We both exited with a bag of bargains.

This evening we are going back to where we spent Monday evening--The Pageant of the Masters Festival Grounds--this time to hear the music of "The Girls." I would wait to include them in my blip today, but they were included in one of last summer's blip (so you can see them there).


After yesterday's sad news, today needed to be upbeat -- I hope this is. Maybe in a few days I will write about Mr. Fun's brother. I'd like to honor him here. He was a year older than I am and three years younger than Mr. fun.

Thank you everyone for your comments the past several days. This has become a summer of soaking in seasoning that surely is helping to mature us into stronger more sensitive people.

Signing off from Laguna Beach in Southern California.
Rosie (& Mr. Fun), aka Carol

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.