Raubrey

By raubrey

Jubilee Bridge, Matlock Bath

This morning I made my way over to Matlock Bath, a favoured haunt in my youth. In my memory it was a busy, thriving tourist attraction. Car parking was always a nightmare, the smell of freshly cooked fish & chips hung in the air and you were always treated to the spectacle of lines of quality, powerful motorbikes as bikers made this their preferred meeting spot after a ride around the Peak District.

I was shocked today as I was greeted with the sight of a rather tired, bedraggled and run down Matlock Bath. 'To Let' signs hung depressingly above the odd empty shop. It looked tatty and like it had fallen on hard times. This is not the Matlock Bath of old.

Everywhere needs at the very least a lick of paint and The Jubilee Bridge is a perfect example of that. Long gone are the vibrant colours, seemingly replaced by a pale and forlorn imitation.

The town really is need of a reboot. If you are reading Matlock Council then shame on you.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.