The Quiet Plodder

By thequietplodder

Statistics

The Port of Melbourne (located a few kilometers to the south of the Melbourne CBD and straddling both the Yarra & Maribyrnong Rivers) is the Cargo import/export gateway of my City to the rest of Australia and the World.

Operating area: 143,000m2 (1,539,239 sq. feet)
Largest Port in Australia
5th largest in southern hemisphere
49th largest in the world
Berths: 34
Longest berth: 980 metres/3,215 feet
Shipping Lines that use the Port: 40
Cargo turnover per year: 71.4 million tonnes (11,243,575,371 stones)
Shipping containers handled per year: 2.16 million
Value of Trade handled per year: $85 billion (Australian dollars)
Ships berthed in a year: 3,400 +
Employs: 3,800 (approx)
First established: over 150 years ago
Station Pier (one of the oldest Piers of the Port) is also where Cruise Ships, Tasmania Ferries and visiting Warships dock - and a popular fishing platform.

The photograph was taken near the Yarraville Berths on the Maribyrnong River, not far from the confluence of the Maribyrnong with the Yarra River and a couple of kilometres (a mile or so) from the towering riband of the Westgate Bridge. A number of Container Storage areas are located on the fringes of the Port, including this one. The steam comes from a nearby Sugar processing factory and gives an indication of a chilly sea breeze that was in proposition.

Actually, the Maribyrnong River here, was until the 1880s a part of the Yarra River, with its confluence a further kilometre upstream (roughly 1/3rd mile). A Canal was built in that time which shortened the River by just under two kilometres taking out a long northern loop, enabling much of the surrounding swamp land to be filled in and reclaimed. Ships could then traverse up the shortened and deeper River all the way to Melbourne itself. This area is known to locals as Coode Island (after Sir John Coode the British Engineer who devised and built the Canal). There is actually no island now as such due to the landfills over the past century having removed any traces of the River's previous route. Over the decades with the building of a number of Bridges near Melbourne, the Docks area moved back down the River to its present voluminous site.

As I was taking photographs of the Containers I was 'quizzed' by a local Security Guard who came roaring up to me in his cute Van merrily flashing its yellow warning lights. "What was I doing here?" this wannabe Clint Eastwood politely but firmly enquired. "Did I have some ID?" was the next, without taking a breath, question. "What have you been taking photographs of?" was his third rapid fire question which annoyingly ended in a preposition. I thought, he'll run out questions soon and I might get a word in - he did stop. "Well, your Lordship", I replied keeping a straight face, "Taking photographs to answer your first question. Yes to your second. River Nymphs to your third." The first two seemed easy enough to understand, though the Lordship jibe went over his head, unsurprisingly. The third answer did not even register; I assumed he had never seen a Nymph, poor soul. "You know this is a 'restricted area' you know!", he retorted using poor syntax. "It ain't Comrade" I informed him using the Comrade incentive, "See that sign ahead, it says 'restricted area' beyond that point and I am removed of that point." My yellow flashing wannabe seemed not the least impressed and despite my offer to show him my 'photographs of Nymphs' and measure the distance to the 'restricted sign' he politely but firmly asked that I leave the area. Needless to say, I was mildly amused by the moment but this was one argument not worth any trouble. To be honest I did not mind in the least him checking me out, I look like a western suburbs ruffian at the best of times and I can appreciate the sensitivity of such places in this jittery age. I actually asked him if he could give me a lift back to Footscray Railway Station (about 3 kilometres away) as I was a worn out, and tired, from a busy day with the plod feet and my rickety back aching a little. To my surprise he agreed. On the way, we ended up having a very friendly and informative (he was a mine of facts and figures as you have read) chat about the Port and the Docks. As a consequence we ended up having a cup of coffee together at a nearby Service Station/Truck stop Cafe (he was due to have his break when he 'interrogated' me anyway). He also explained how of recent times, the Port has become very security conscious. To which I indicated this was well understood by me up the point where commonsense applies but not beyond. Then again, you would not want this Plod bungling his way around the Ports least a Container is dropped on me (with me yelling, "A bit more to the left, oh shi ...", as I snapped away). Too, I would be as likely to fall off a Berth into the River trying to get 'that better photograph'. So, from a terse initial encounter, we parted on friendly terms and I have an offer to go on a tour of the Docks at a later date as a result which should be very interesting!

As we left, he asked, "Plod, what do those Nymphs look like you had earlier and curtly told me about?" In reply (and still with a straight face) I said, "Whatever your imagination perceives them to be." He laughed as we shook hands, "I'll be watching out for you in the future and I'll know it's you with that battered old walking stick."

I hope so, I thought. You do meet interesting people at times, happily.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.