a phone, near home

I didn't notice whether or not there was a working telephone handset in this phone box as I was preoccupied with not leaning too far off-stance to keep the door open. I've wandered past this every few evenings since living round this way but had somehow managed to convince myself that it was lacking a door and would thus be quite suitable for this sort of use. As well as having a door the door was ninety degrees anticlockwise from the side I expected to be the entrance. To be fair, on most occasions when I've wandered past I've been babbling at the wingpiglet in his papoose trying to get him to go to or stay asleep and wasn't looking around too much.

Were these things as frequently-used as they were ten years ago then we would probably have been considerably further along the Ayr-home route today when we realised that we didn't have the bucket containing the last 36 hours' used nappies. I had left my phone on top of the bucket in order to ensure that we forgot neither but when I went to collect them my phone was sitting on top of the washing powder box, with the result that I picked up the phone and forgot about the nappies. Fortunately, due to the reason for the decline in use of these sorts of thing, we were able to be informed of our omission before we'd gone more than 11.4 miles.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.