jay's days

By cosmicgirlie

Totem Tree Pole

I'm pretty rubbish when I go for walks around here, as it's usually just to clear my head. So therefore, I don't actually see anything.

On yesterday's walk, less than 30 seconds from my house, I spotted this. The owner of the house was standing talking to a friend and was quite happy to let me snap away while they chatted.

This was carved with a chainsaw and pickaxe, from a tree which had grown too big for his front garden. A friend of his father-in-law had done it about 4 years ago, and it was a regular job for him.

Sadly, the friend has since become blind, his eye sight deteriorated rapidly.

The heron at the top is because of the tiny pond which was next to tree was regularly raided by herons from the country fields opposite. Also, the family is Irish, hence the Celtic cross and the claddagh; there were also shamrocks carved onto either side of the tree.

Can't believe I never spotted this before! And very grateful to the neighbour for allowing me to photograph.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.