Daily Vision

By terryb

Unbelievable Patience

I knew eventually I would blip this. The last few diays I've been making my blips with a super sharp bright Contax 35mm lens that I've fallen in love with. Its sibling the 45mm version is supposed to be even better (and arrives today <grin> - I need to sell something).

Yesterday afternoon I saw a report that the corners of photos were very bad using the lens camera combo that I was using. I didn't think my lens showed that and wanted to do some testing.

I have a painting by the artist Max Cole on my bedroom wall. Her work when looked at from a normal viewing distance looks like a striped canvas with just enough detail to make you come closer and get a better look. Once you do come closer, you see the absolute incredible amount of painstaking detail involved in bringing one to life. It requires a steady hand and an amount of patience that I simply can't fathom.

How does this story fit together. All that detail makes for an interesting lens test when you want to see if the lens can resolve that detail. So, after reading the report of this lens not being so good in combination with the camera, I had to test it out. My blip is a close up of a very small portion of this large (at least 50" x 60" canvas).

I was relieved to find that my lens doesn't have a sharpness problem!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.