Diptych

By diptych

Triptych

Before I took this picture, I had set the camera down on the stone bench we were sitting on, and was thinking about shooting a sequence of people going by in exactly the same spot. I wasn't sure what I was going to do with it, and then this family came along. I didn't get a good shot of the father walking at the head of the line, but his wife and daughters walked into my frame like they knew what I had planned and were all too happy to oblige.

What I like the most is the sense of progression, a spin off of life turns, in a small way. At first it's deceptively quiet, like they are the only people walking by, and suddenly, there are people coming and going from every direction.

[These women are not Egyptian. I know there are several countries where the women of certain Muslim sects dress this way, but the only one I am sure of is India.]

Best viewed large

If you want to see each picture individually, I've posted them on flickr
1
2
3

Thank you all for the wonderfully sweet comments on yesterday's blip and for wishing Scorpionkiss a happy birthday. We had a wonderful day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.