The Laws

By thelaws

Christmas Cake

I started soaking the fruits last Thursday. Intending to bake the cakes on Friday. However when I looked at the quantity of the fruits I realised I didn't have enough tins to bake the 'mini' cakes in. So the fruits have been left soaking up the brandy, whilst we have eaten more beans on toast than we truely care too. We even had Spaghetti on toast - and it was AWFUL. I used to love Heinz Spaghetti Hoops on toast when I was younger. Now, either I had dreadful taste as a child or they have changed the recipe. It was foul!

I finally thought we had enough tins, so I made up the mix this morning and lined an 8" round tin and 8 tin cans. Spooned the mixture in and realised I still had lots of mixture, so quickly lined a 2lb loaf tin and generally made a real mess and created mounds of washing up. The mini cakes were baked for 2 hours, the loaf tin and round cake have been in 4 and a half hours now. I'm off to check these after I've blipped. Now the mini cakes all have 'homes' to go to - mainly to my Grandparents, the round one is for us (Chris LOVES Christmas Cake) - but so far the loaf tin cake is homeless...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.