Life Inspired

By inspiredesigns

Day Ten: Sydney, Australia

Backblip #10

After leaving New Caledonia, we flew straight to Sydney, Australia prepared to board our flight for San Francisco, California. As we walked upstairs to the Departures I noticed the screen with all the departing information. Our flight was listed as cancelled...

There is only one flight to SFO and one flight to LAX from Sydney on United every day, and the Los Angeles flight was full to the brim. We spent several hours trying to derive new plans but ended up heading into Sydney for the night at my husband's uncle's home.

When we woke this morning, we logged onto the computer only to find that the Los Angeles flight for today was also cancelled and the San Fran flight was packed from the cancelled flight the day before. What a nightmare! My husband and I spent the entire day looking for more options for getting home, while the boys sat glued to a T.V. watching Australian Nickelodeon. Not my favorite day by far.

In the evening, I was fed up and bored out of my mind. I took the boys outside for a walk down the street. I managed a few shots, but nothing struck me more than this giant, dead bat hanging from the power lines. It was seriously as big as a cat and dead as can be hanging there by one leg. I only had my 50mm on me, so I couldn't get a better shot unfortunately.

Of all my photos this day, I figured this one really summed up the day metaphorically.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.