Courage Is The Price

By courage

Mr Dewar

I must say, regardless of politics, I think this is a really cool statue. They're usually so pompous but I love the way Donald Dewar looks all dishevelled, like he's looking down Buchanan Street feeling a bit puzzled but amiable!

I once interviewed the eminent historian Tom Devine about Scottish history. He said two things that stuck in my mind (and made for great pull-quotes in the magazine article):

That being in a Union with England is like being in bed with an elephant.

That he once asked Donald (as he casually calls him) how it feels to be the father of a nation. Donald leaned over the table and replied "Scotland doesn't have a father. But it does have a mother."

Anyone care to venture a guess as to who Donald named as Scotland's mother?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.