Dignity

I've seen him around my neighbourhood. Our relationship had progressed from being oblivious to each other to a brief nod of acknowledgement. But today, as I searched around for something to capture, he noticed me.

He smiled and beckoned me over. Indicating that he could, or should, be today's subject. And who was I to refuse. His kind eyes and gentle demeanour meant that I was, in this instance, more drawn to talking, ..to conversing with him, rather than trying to capture his image.

And we talked. He told me of his love from whom he is currently, albeit temporarily separated. He told me of his busy bustling city, whose charms escape many. We talked at length of Indonesian Islands. Of men and their masks. We laughed at talk of donkeys. We pondered over the rich and famous, their inconsequential lives.

But the most interesting conversation, was when he spoke of his hopes. His desire for the future. We bonded over a love of the art that is photography. He spoke of his desire to someday and somehow win a local photography competition. It sounds impossible, but I believe this kind and gentle man, with his subtle smile and love of freedoms, could actually achieve his aspirations.

I came away a richer person, and eternally gratefully that he had beckoned me over, in his shy and reticent manner.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.