Colin Parte

By ColinParte

Goddess

A few days ago I was zipping along the Con Colbert Rd when I spotted the shape of a Land Rover across the Liffey in what I thought was a Fire Brigade station yard. Closer inspection today revealed the said Land Rover, and other interesting vehicles, in the Dublin Civil Defence complex. My Land Rover radar is finely tuned as I'm a big fan, but my Blip today was a lovely mint Green Goddess.
These retired British Army fire engines are much bigger than I expected up close. They featured regularly in the media whenever the UK fire brigade went on strike but most have now been sold off. This one looked brand new and sparkly. Not bad for a 59 year old!

Sorry about the angle! I had originally taken this shot with the front pointing upwards with the intention of utilising a sense of movement and rushing as per your usual fire engine rushing about, but I think it looks better at this angle. I was really limited in my time in the yard as I had only 20c in change and therefore nine minutes before I might have been clamped, otherwise I may have taken more photographs and got a better one than this.

Thanks to the chaps at the Civil Defence too, as they permitted me to root around :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.