The hitchhiker

I caught Omar communicating with a greenbottle.

Today was the last of the carpenter days and he got it all done, which was quite a feat:
- plywood on the floors of two rooms
- two cupboards
- skirting boards
- cellar hatch door

All in three days! Superb. And it looks fine, too. Phew. The flooring man arrives tomorrow. Then (hopefully) I can move back into the bedroom and start being sane again.

Tonight I went to the Shepherd's Bush Empire to see the Trembling Bells and Bonnie Prince Billy. Since the carpenter worked late to get the work done, I missed the Trembling Bells. I met Si outside the gig cooling off after his set with the guitar player (Si is the bass player). They were glowing with the knowledge that they'd had a great show. This was the last night of a two-week tour. I was amazed to hear that the lead singer and drummer and singer of Trembling Bells had played the full night every night since they also performed with Bonnie Prince Billy. They were superb, too, and I really enjoyed the gig, despite being too small to see anything. I really must take a stepladder next time.

There were some lovely folk at the after-show party, but I dragged Si away before the party ended for fear of a hugely long journey home of night buses. We caught the last tube - yay!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.