jeni and the beans

By themessymama

Fearfully and Wonderfully

For you created my inmost being; you knit me together in my mother's womb. I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that so well. My frame was not hidden from you when I was made in the secret place. When I was woven together in the depths of the earth, your eyes saw my unformed body.

I noticed Ben's leg last night as I fed him to sleep, it was so slender, so slim, so small. I thought about the people I know who are expecting children at the moment, how God is growing those tiny forms; about how BIG God is and yet how he must have such tiny tiny fingers as he puts us together and fixes us.

I wanted to photograph Ben's leg today as he was sleeping, but it was covered in trousers (how inconvenient!) so I have taken a photograph of his hand instead. The baby I had a cuddle with last week, Abraham, I remember looking at his hands and marvelling at how small and perfect they were, and how different Ben's hands are already to how they were as a newborn.

The miracle of creation. My boy is a miracle, even though he was conceived naturally. He is a miracle simply because he is. And I praise God for that.


Edit - changed the photo slightly to one that had his face more apparent - the other photo had far too small a DoF.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.