halfglimpse

Apart from one blipper whose presence along the high street was half-expected I also saw several street performers who seemed familiar from previous years (beyond the dreary familiarity and commonality of their actions, from the tedious capering of the dickhead wearing those springy goat-leg stilts to the people who think holding a ball in the air to be a performance worthy of occupying six square feet of pavement to the people walking slowly upwards along the middle of the road in their show-costumes (with the inevitable frenzy of clicking this invites, the demographic spread of the performers clearly affecting the resultant demographic of the photographers, each year clicking away with a slightly faster mean framerate)). More interesting (and much less capering and irritating) are the familiar-but-not-known faces of people also just wandering about. The same photographerbloke who took some shots of the tour group I was in which went round Seafield Crematorium on Doors Open Day in 2007 was wandering around, possibly even wearing the same coat. I've seen the above bloke about a few times and know his Flickrname (via someone in the work photo club mentioning having seen him at their bus stop and someone else in the work photo club knowing him through a photochemical-film-based meetup) but don't actually know him in the slightest. Much as with spotting famouses around town, it's one of these situations where you know someone's face/hair but they have no idea who you are so staring at them with an air of recognition is probably not wise, nor polite. It most recently happened when I spotted someone I was sure I knew (but couldn't remember whence) wandering along the street; I half-nodded at them as I passed in case it would have been rude not to, only realising twenty paces onwards that they only seemed half-familiar as they would usually have been wearing a blue shirt and exasperatedly persuading the self-service tills to be less shit in the Nicolson St Tesco. They would recognise me much less than I would recognise them, if they recognised me at all. When I eventually get round to clearing my Flickr backlog this will be uploaded and suitably person-tagged as I didn't have my normal bag with me and lacked the blipcards usually carried therein.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.