Skyroad

By Skyroad

Tractor Beams, Sandymount Strand

At least that's how the rays of light acted on me. They drew me in. I couldn't take my eyes off the scene.

The light is almost always interesting on Sandymount's broad stretch of dark damp grey sand, where the tide goes out so far it seems it might never return. But I particularly love those thin streaks of sullen peach, with the airy sun filtering through a rip in the lowering cloud, the ships . Even though I was running a bit late, on my way to give a couple of readings in schools over the border in Newtownhamilton (about 1 to 2 hours depending on traffic), I couldn't let this one pass. So I stopped and shot a couple of frames from the car.

Later, approaching Newry in bright sunshine, I was mesmerised again, this time by a huge wall of fog that wallowed across the M1 (must be to do with the higher ground). I stopped again, this time to take some shots of COWS and their COWBREATH.
.
I managed to arrive just in time, despite a lack of good directions. The kids were great and the readings were fun.

The drive back was great too, a beautiful evening. A bit melancholy though, sad (Autumnal) thoughts traveling through my mind. Driving does that sometimes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.