an image of teamdel

By teamdel

life.turns. 5 - PostBagMan goes Postal

Another day another life.turns. for bag man. Today he opted to be a Postman or mail delivery operative depending on what they are now called.

Our usual postman has a bad leg so we are having to put up with some temporary ones who simply are not as good as the old boy. He knows the street and the people so will drop parcels off with neighbours so that we do not have to queue at the post office and always has time for a chat. The temps tend to wander about listening to music loudly through earphones, ramming post through the nearest letter box.

This is not my only current issue with the postal service.

Postal rant 1 - When I was young post was delivered in the morning nice and early, nowadays we are lucky to get it before Murder She Wrote starts in the afternoon on the telly box.

Postal rant 2 - The streets round here are littered mainly with two things, dog poo and red elastic bands. Now I am not blaming the posties for the dog poo but they could pick up the red rubber bands. It would even save them / us a bit of money. I wouldn't mind so much if they were normal elastic bands as I could tell myself that some ASBO child threw it there along with his monster munch wrapper. But NO they are red just for the post office so we all know it is you lot. If I did it I would probably end up with a fine. When I see them on the ground I tend to post them in the nearest letter box in the hope that they will be used again, but I doubt it, they are probably just lobbed on the floor again by the postbox when it is emptied.

As you can see postal rant 2 is only illustrated on the floor of the blip.

As for the outfit, it is an official post office shirt that I got at a car boot sale, I used to wear it to night clubs and tell people I was off to work after the club shut.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.